Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences
Department of Radiology

About Us

The University of Melbourne established the first University Department of Radiology in Australia in 1965 with the appointment of William S C Hare as the Foundation Edgar Rouse Professor.

The Department of Radiology is situated within The Royal Melbourne Hospital and is adjacent to the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences.

Professor Patricia Desmond is the Head of Department for both The University of Melbourne and The Royal Melbourne Hospital Radiology Department

Professor Robert N Gibson is Deputy Head of the University Department of Radiology.

The University department staff consists of three full-time and three part-time academic appointments, one full-time, one part-time administrative staff and 80 affiliates.

The hospital department currently has approximately 120 staff including 14 consultant radiologists, and 17 radiology registrars.

There is an effective full time establishment of 59 radiographers, of which 14 are accredited sonographers. Each year there are up to 6 Intern Radiographers undertaking a full year of structured clinical experience to be eligible for accreditation and professional registration. Undergraduate Radiographers from RMIT University and Monash University attend for clinical experience.

In addition there is an effective establishment of 21 nursing staff.

The following imaging modalities are available within the Department;

Areas of special expertise include

top of page